Passport Seva Programme (PSP) Division


The Passport Seva Programme (PSP) Division of the Ministry of External Affairs deals with the following issues and frames the policy matters related thereto:

  1. Issuing the following travel documents:
    • Ordinary (blue) passports
    • Certificate of Identity to stateless persons
    • LoC permits to travel across the Line of Control
  2. Issuing the following other documents:
    • Police Clearance Certificates
    • Surrender Certificates
  3. Administers the following legislations:
    • Passports Act, 1967
    • Passports Rules, 1980
  4. Manages the following:
    • The Passport Seva Project (PSP) in PPP Mode
    • The Agreements with M/s Tata Consultancy Services (TCS) for operating the Passport Seva Kendras (POPSK)
    • The MOU between the Ministry of External Affairs and the Department of Posts for operating the Post Office Passport Seva Kendras (POPSK)
    • 36 Passport Offices spread across the country
    • 93 Passport Seva Kendras (PSKs)
    • 412 Post Office Passport Seva Kendras (POPSKs)
    • Cadre of the Central Passport Organization (CPO) comprising of 2,741 employees