High Commission of India

Pretoria

PRESS RELEASE

An all-party Indian Parliamentary delegation led by Hon. Ms. Supriya Sule, MP, Lok Sabha commenced the South Africa engagement today i.e., 27th May 2025, in Johannesburg with a community interaction, to reiterate India's message against terrorism. Indian delegation conveyed India's zero-tolerance policy towards cross-border terrorism. The delegation shared that Operation Sindoor, conducted by Indian in response, was calibrated, targeted and proportionate, demonstrating India's commitment to countering terrorism without escalating tensions. They emphasized the need to stop differentiating the terrorists and their backers and dismantling the cross-border terrorism infrastructure, developed and used against India for several decades.

- 2. The members of the delegation are Members of Parliament Hon. Ms Supriya Sule, Hon. Mr. Rajiv Pratap Rudy, Hon. Mr. Vikramjeet Singh Sahney, Hon. Mr. Manish Tewari, Hon. Mr. Anurag Singh Thakur, Hon. Mr. Lavu Sri Krishna devarayalu, Hon. Mr. Anand Sharma, former Minister of Commerce & Industry, Hon. Mr. V Muraleedharan, Former Minister of State for External Affairs, and Amb Mr. Syed Akbaruddin, Former Permanent Representative of India to UN.
- 3. The delegation will be visiting Cape Town on 28th May, 2025 for meetings in the South African Parliament and with Ministers of Government of South Africa.

27 May 2025

Pretoria